top of page

I'm Staying in Roswell Until the End

Hello!!

Well here it goes, today I start my last transfer and it's the weirdest thing ever. This week we had some elk meat in the freezer that we got from a less-active a couple of months ago and so we went wild with it :) We had sloppy joes, tin foil dinners, and spaghetti, and it was delicious!! Also this week the Badger family (one of the coolest families ever) fed us dinner and the fed us cod and I loved it! Actually I have been wanting to try some fish lately and then bam I like it now! They also are so sweet and brought us a veggie tray to take on our road trip to Lubbock over the weekend and because Sister Gonzalez is leaving they bought her a 3lb of gummy bears, her favorite! Oh and they took us to Classics (a frozen custard place) that even has dairy-free alien ice for dessert! We went on a second exchange with Carlsbad this week and I was with Sister Bleyl again, I love her! And am dying of excitement becuase...Sister Peck is coming to be her companion this transfer which means I can see her again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My all-time dream was for her to be my companion for my last transfer, but this will work for me :) We were able to see Sister Hinds (the sister that reminds me of Dawn) and set some great visions and goals and plans with her for her family! Pray for them, her husband and brother have surgery this week. The 'Meet the Mormons' movie night went well! We were able to have a BBQ with the Kitchens before it started and they invited their friend and she came to the movie as well. Her name is Christina and we are hoping to start teaching her this week :) The other big thing of this week was our "surprise" MLC that happened on Saturday, Elder Corbridge of the 70 came and talked with us! It was amazing! He came simply because President Heap called and asked him a question a couple of weeks ago and he asked if he could come visit us! It was great, the drive was a little long though, and we have to make it again this weekend for regular MLC, but that means we get to see President and Sister Heap again and I love them! Also their daughter Emily is in town for the summer, she has a job in Lubbock and she's great! Okay so back to the start of the email. We had transfer calls on Saturday and President called and I get to stay!!!!! Also I am going to be double training-- a new Sister Training Leader is coming, Sister Villondo, who I love! She was serving in Carlsbad until just last transfer and so I have been her STL for 4 transfers! And then a brand new missionary, Hermana Tycksen. That's right another Hermana. The last spanish sister we got was Sister Peck, about 9 months ago, and now we are finally getting more! I am excited! When President called he couldn't remember if she was coming from the Mexico MTC or the Provo MTC and so we will see how much Spanish she knows, it's going to be exciting :) It's going to be crazy :) It's going to be busy :) Because the new transfer is starting that means this one is ending, which means Sister Gonzalez is going home. It's the weirdest thing every. I've decided it's definitely more traumatic to be the one left. I just can't imagine the TLM without her or Sister Rocha, that's it they are gone after tomorrow. Missions are weird, missions are incredible how lives are weaved together. I started about 2 weeks ago 'reflecting' on my mission through my past journals and wow is all I can say. At times it seems like not much is happening or not much is changing in me but looking back I am amazed of the experiences I have had and the things I have learned. It can't be put into words but it's incredible. None of the least include, I can do hard things, we are the church of Jesus Chirst- He lives and is the foundation for everything, we access the Atonement through repentance + we need daily repentance, I love being a missionary, fasting brings miracles, (with dad's back surgery, baptisms of Jose Luis, fasting for an amazing trainer) the centrality of our covenants in everything, and how to be personable and myself while still being a missionary, and this was only for first 6 months! Those months I also learned how to speak in sentences in Spanish, how to take apart pipes, and how to become brown--especially in the culture :) I love my mission! I love the things I have learned! And can't wait to learn more this transfer!! xoxo Hermana Slade Also Sister McCarthy goes home on Wednesday and her homecoming report will be not this week but the next, you should go! It's crazy to think Friday was my last sleepover at her apartment and this week she won't be there. And so naturally we had to take a picture!


No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page