top of page

Mother's Day is Coming!

This week was a great week! I can't believe Sister Gonzalez is now in her last month as a missionary and that I am her companion again. A lot of people say 3 transfers with the same companion is a lot, and we are on our 6th! I never would have thought that a year ago in a year I would be with the same companion, still in New Mexico, just a different area. Things are so different but the same :)

It's weird that it's May. It's crazy that it's May. It's exciting that it's May. I can't wait for Mother's Day because honestly I miss my family. I also can't believe that another month has passed us and July is getting sooner! Unfortunately it also means the heat is coming and that I could do without.This week for the sisters we are over we played "Who Am I?" with scripture heroes. Each day we would send them 3 hints, some including 'i'm really good at making food stretch.' 'my dad almost killed me' 'i fasted for 72 hours' 'i solved a party crisis.' It was so fun!

This week also starts exchanges with the Carlsbad sisters!! And we are even going to be able to do another real exchange! Pray that I get over my fever though because that could put a real damper on things!

MLC was this week, which meant a trip to Lubbock, which meant we got to have dinner in Lubbock, which meant I got to eat at Pei Wei again! Let me tell you their lettuce wraps are DELICIOUS! Basically it's the cheaper version of P.F. Changs and I love it! MLC was also super good! We talked a lot about leadership from Ezekiel 33 and 34 and I am excited for the vision of President and Sister Heap. I truely do love them and what they are doing for us in this mission.

We have a new investigator named Merna. We met her knocking and she invited us right in! She is super open and willing, she babysits at another church's daycare on Sunday's though so pray we can work around that and she can still come to church :)The less-active work continues to go well here! I love the families here and our goal of going back to the temple with them! The Hinds family could use some prayers though, Satan loves to attack and this week in came in the form of their 2 year old (Brynnlee's twin) catching pneumonia and her husband shooting himself through the eye with a nailgun, after being flown to Albuquerque for an emergency operation he might still lose it but he is at home now. Also they are re-doing their living room and I was able to give them the tip of staggering their laminate hardwood so that it looks more real, thank you dad, they love it!

We have been giving a lot of service at Harvest Ministries, like a local food bank type of place put together from a lot of churches. We work in the pantry and fill grocery carts full of food, canned goods, produce, meat, frozen baked goods, and snacks and then get to deliver it to the families! We love it and are having more and more opportunities to share the gospel with the other volunteers there! This week we also had fun making homemade pizza without cheese and spaghetti squash for dinner!I'm so excited for Mother's Day!!!

Also yesterday in Testimony Meeting little Elijah and the cadets bore their testimony! Nothing could have been more rewarding!

xoxo

Hermana Slade


No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page