top of page

Dia-Beets!

Okay this week was a good one! So many good things happened which helps balance out the fact that it is 20 degrees today and snowing like crazy. Don't worry during the week it was 75, the weather here is one of a kind :)

This week we got to go to Hobbs, New Mexico for exchanges and I got to live out my dream, be companions with a diabetic!! Sister Starr. It was only 24 hours but I absolutely loved every second. Watching her check her numbers, pull out her juice on our bikes when she went low, learn about her pump, it was the best! Made me miss my favorite diabetic but boy oh boy did I love it. She was diagnosed when she was 6 years old, got her first pump at 11 and is a boss at looking at the food and knowing exactly how many carbs. It really took me back home when after her breakdown about the stress of the work I took her to Sonic and she ordered a Diet Sprite #nocarbs Slushy. Good times in Hobbs!! This week was both Zone Conference which I wrote about last time and Stake Conference, which was amazing!! The spiritual revelation was flowing! Here were two of my favorite pondering questions: "Do you really believe in God that much?" "Can you make it better now?" They also talked about the power of indexing and how the 2nd Counselor after indexing 25000 names his completely anti/less active son not only came back to the church but his wife joined and they have since been sealed! The power of indexing is real! It is temple work that we can do while watching tv! Also I got to meet Sister Twitchell, Kelsie's old companion + get this after Stake Conference on Saturday night President Heap took us and a bunch of missionaries to Dairy Queen for a treat! I love him! I'm telling you I love all diabetics! We had the Boy Scout's Fundraiser Spaghetti Dinner that we helped with. We cut apart the rolls they bought ha. And then after they let us eat for free :) I love being a missionary. Also quick note: they had a dessert auction and one of the desserts went for $425. Can you say expensive!! We are still searching are hearts out for investigators and yes I know it will happen eventually. This week we found Andrew who went to our church his whole life growing up because his dad is a member but was never baptized. We are super excited to help him just pray for Andrew and that he will be ready to make the changes in his life! For awhile we had some nice teaching pools here but honestly, right now not so much. But we continue to work hard and happily. Our studies are incredible, I told my companions this morning that my favorite part of the day is the beginning of companionship study where we all share what we learned during personal study and help and teach one another. And that is because the Holy Spirit heals and uplifts! We continue to teach institute at NMMI on Sundays and I love that! We are working with some really amazing Less Active families. I love less active work even though the results aren't as visible or as quick it is so rewarding to watch them light up with the Spirit and remember what it felt like to be active. Also this week I found a new scripture that I love: Doctrine and Covenants 64:25 "Wherefore, if ye believe me, ye will labor while it is called today." When we have faith and believe we work! And I love it!! xoxox Hna. Slade


No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page