top of page

Spanish + Sugar

Two of my goals for this transfer : More Spanish, Less Sugar. It is going to be a great transfer!! I love my new trainee! She is sooo fun and sooo excited about this work!!

Okay so her name is Hna. Peck and I love her. Btw she is fluent in Spanish too. So she is helping me with my Spanish and I am helping her learn how to be a missionary. It is the perfect combo. She learned Spanish in school and has already taken "Spanish for RM's" at BYU. She is from San Diego, graduated in 2013, and is soo fun. We have having a blast working so hard together :) Fun facts about her: She has a sister with the same birthday as her (who is her best-friend) and she worked at ann taylor loft before she came on the mission. I love training!!! My dream was always to train a native and this is just as good!

We have been focusing on our less-actives this week and they are progressing! In our mission we have a new key indicator for progressing less-actives and we had 5 this week! They are ready to come back and make the next step in their discipleship...the temple. I am so excited for them! So...please pray that Gloria will be able to find some information out for her family history (she has been working so hard on it). I have been teaching her for 6 months now and 3 weeks ago she decided she is ready to start doing the things we have been asking, so she has been reading every single day in the Book of Mormon, the lessons before church, working on her family history, paying her tithing and preparing for the temple. She said she is ready to start coming to lessons with us and this week she feed us pizza! It's sooo exciting. The other family we have been working with is the Vega's in particular Hna. Vega, her daughter-in-law Virginia, and her daughter Virginia. We started doing FHE with them this last week and every week we are going to bring a different active family to come with us! It was a hit last week with 13 people there!! It was so fun! They loved it! And Viriginia came to both the Women's Conference and Church yesterday!! Keep praying that they can all progress toward the temple and that they can listen to General Conference!

Speaking of Conference, the Women's Conference was awesome!! We watched it with the Branch so in Spanish, and I understand everything! Woot woot!! But it is much easier to receive personal revelation in English so we are watching General Conference in English. Which I am dying I am so excited for!! Get the snacks ready cuz this is way better than the Superbowl! Or even NBA finals! (my one real sports love) If you prepare for General Conference and write down a question you have I promise you it will be answered! These are God's words for us! Listen closely!

Other fun facts for the week: we had a change in the Branch Presidency. Hno. Nunez is now the 2nd counselor (btw he is 6' 10"--the tallest Mexican probably ever). I am speaking the week after conference in church. We ate a yellow watermelon this week, it was soooo good! I saw Shelby Evans at the transfer site! She is from Cherri's ward! We were friends in Institute at ISU. I love her and wish that she was a Spanish sister so we could be companions one day! And this week has been full of laughter! I love the mission!!!

xoxo

con amor,

Hna. Slade


No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page