top of page

I Need Coffee Everyday

Coffee street that is! That street is a gold mine. It's like 100 yards long + produces investigators + baptisms like crazy! It also houses a lot of crazies! Some people there have had visions of horses with red eyes + others say the hair on their toes stands straight up when we talk.

Now let's start at the very beginning, a very nice place to start. America tastes good!! The air! As soon as we got to the mission home + President walked out of the room I put my face on the carpet! And there's no more rabies blankets so I can snuggle with my blankie by my face at nights!

President Augustin is awesome. He has so much alacrity--look up the word it's his fav. I knew I would like him as soon as we got in the car and he whipped out a comb to fix his hair.

We are the 2nd transfer of Spanish-speaking sisters and so out of 130 companionships 3 are Spanish-speaking sisters. Ahhh!!! But my companion is Hermana Rocha + both of her parents are from Mexico so she's fluent. And she thinks I'm super white! But right now all of our investigators are English so pray we get some Spanish because I need to practice. So far I've only prayed once in Spanish with an investigator and told a morning find I had a gift--pass along card--for them. But Hermana Rocha is awesome. She just finished getting trained.

So the first night we slept in the mission home + then the 2nd day we bought our bikes. I love mine!! And we got our packages. Shoutout to Landon + Aunt Cindy for being the best!! When you come bearing gifts it's an automatic in with the new comp right!!?

The came Pama, my first area! I love it! It's crazy!!

Bishop Guymon is Dr. Guymon's from Preston nephew. They are going back to Cache Valley this week for Spring Break + they noticed I have the Cache Valley glow jaja.

Becky. She was baptized the Sat. before I got here. She has 500 cats, seriously I counted 12 in 1 second. She says they keep her warm at night..

So we had Stake Conference + Pampa's Ward Council- which includes me- had to sit on the stage + answer questions in the Saturday night session. With Elder Baxter from the 1st Quorom of the 70. With President Augustin. With the whole Stake watching. With me having never even been to Ward Council.

Ooooh also in Stake Conference Elder Baxter mentioned Cache Valley + I was like Boom Baby!

Dogs are everywhere! I have at least 20 heart attacks a day.

The FLDS compound is in my mission. Idk where though.

Hermana Rocha has a CD with Carrie's "How Great Thou Art," and J-B's "Pray"

I met my first J-Dub + he invited us back! Say what!!

There is a lot of crying from old men here..

Every person I met (girls only of course) think they have to hug me..

Someone gave me a fake address, we showed up and it was not Sarah's house but an old man that was bashing Mormons hardcore. And he wouldn't let us leave forever. And I was getting so hot.

We teach James who is 11 + the lesson was going fabulous! Then his dad who is less active had a blow-up and the whole house shook. Literally. jajaja

I met another less active who was friends with the Wanda Barzee in prison. Prison is where they met. You should have seen how huge my eyes got.

Doug. He studies the BOM hardcore but he questions everything. Like how Nephi could get the ore out of the ground, why it says flying fiery serpents because snakes don't fly, + how the ship got in the water. Don't worry I got him on all of them. He said fine 2 points for Sis. Slade. He says he has to pick the whole BOM apart first before he believes it. And this is all in 1st Nephi. Keep the questions coming. Keep em coming!

We went to what we thought was a less active lesson + ended with Jonathan having a baptismal date that he wrote down on his GIANT wall calendar in front of us. That is why you invite the 1st lesson!

Shane. He was just baptized. He has a limp tongue and so he can only sign. His grandma passed away this Friday. Definitely my favorite moment this week was teaching him the Plan of Salvation + that not only will he get his speech back but that he can have temple work done for his grandma. He said wow + gave the thumbs up. I love God's Plan of Happiness for us all!

xoxo

con amor,

Hermana Slade

Line of the Week:

Me: What do you think Jesus gave to the blind?

James: A dog!

Also my address is:

805 N. Nelson Apt. A

Pampa, TX 79065

Write me!! You've had a whole free six weeks.

IMG_0249_edited.JPG


No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page